Is Peanut Butter Dairy-free? (And What Brands To Buy)

Is peanut butter dairy-free? The answer is yes, as long as you’re not eating a specialty peanut butter – like milk chocolate peanut butter. The only issue with regular peanut butter, which usually just contains peanuts, oil, and a sweetener, could be cross-contamination.


Many brands of peanut butter are manufactured in facilities that use milk in the production of other products. Some types of peanut butter are even manufacturerd using the same equipment as dairy-containing products.

A fast-moving production line, even if subject to high levels of quality control could be fertile ground for cross-contamination with dairy ingredients. There’s the consideration that even in the most highly automated facilities there is a human element.

All it takes is for one person working with dairy ingredients to neglect their hygienic practices (like not replacing gloves between products).

Also, the equipment may or may not be cleaned when they switch from product to product. This could lead to cross-contamination.

Some manufacturers are careful when switching from a dairy to a non-dairy product, but some, unfortunately, aren’t.

Food processing equipment is difficult to properly clean unless the manufacturer dismantles absolutely everything. I think we’d better assume that this is not usually done.

How do I know what brands are dairy-free?

So how do you ensure that the peanut butter that you are purchasing meets all the criteria to be classed as truly dairy-free?

Your first step is to review the ingredients on the packaging. If you have any doubts, always ask the manufacturer – most are usually willing to go on record about the status of their products.

If you’re highly sensitive to dairy, definitely check labels carefully before buying anything processed.

In the US and many other countries, common allergens used in food must be labeled on product packaging. So if a dairy product is being used, it should say so on the label.

The label might also say something like: “processed in a shared facility” – “may contain (traces of) dairy” – “made on shared equipment with dairy foods.”

If you’re highly sensitive to dairy and worried about cross-contamination, it’s always better to find peanut butter that’s labeled dairy-free or vegan.

Reviewing product labels is time-consuming and it can get a little annoying. But it’s an easy way to ensure your peanut butter is dairy-free!

What about Jif and Skippy?

The good news is that two of America’s favorite brands of peanut butter are dairy-free and most of their products don’t contain any dairy ingredients.

So you’re good to go with those two!

The only thing you have to watch out for is their snack foods. All of Jif’s products are dairy-free, but these snack foods from Skippy do contain milk.

  • Skippy Double Peanut Butter PB Bites
  • Skippy Pretzel Bites
  • Skippy Granola PB Bites
  • Skippy Graham Crackers PB Bites

Make your own dairy-free peanut butter with just 1 ingredient

You really only need one ingredient to make homemade peanut butter – roasted salted peanuts.

Toss them in a high-speed blender or food processor and blend until creamy. I have a whole post and video here about how to make peanut butter.

Dairy-free peanut butter recipes

I have over 60 peanut butter recipes, of which most are dairy-free.

Here are some of my favorites!

Also be sure to check out my other dairy-free recipes for some more inspiration!

I hope I’ve answered your question. :) If you have any others, leave a comment below and I’ll be happy to help answer them.